PACUMBER-L Archives

Archiver > PACUMBER > 2005-05 > 1115521739


From: Judith Bookwalter <>
Subject: The Evening Sentinel obits from Jan to Mar 1956
Date: Sat, 7 May 2005 20:08:59 -0700 (PDT)


I have only jotted down the names of all the obits for
this 3-month period. I will go back to the library
and get obits from this list for anyone that needs
them. Judy


The Evening Sentinel, Carlisle, Pa, January to March
1956 obits:

Jan. 2, Mon., James A. Thompson 86;

Jan. 3, Tue., Mrs. Sarah O. Campbell 57; Mrs. Flora
B. Seavers 73; Mrs. Clara V. Brunner 84; Mrs. Maggie I
Nye 79; Mrs. Zoe Lay Weakley 55;

Jan. 4, Wed., Dr. George Lopez 39; Lina May Eastep
Biller 64; Elizabeth Painter Hanson 73;

Jan. 5, Thu., none

Jan. 6, Fri., Grace Eshenour March 75;

Jan. 7, Sat., Earl C. Smith 44; Harvey I. Bender
Sr. 63; Elizabeth Oertly Miller 86; Anna K. McCaleb
Noaker 62;

Jan. 9, Mon., Anna Johnson Stees 79; Kenneth C.
Kissinger 58; Margaret Anna Burk Mellinger 76; Charles
Funk 80; Kirk Stevens 79; Harry N. Goodhart 77;
Virginia C. Richter Heilig 47; Thomas T. Steigleman
Sr. 46; Barbara Alice Marks Paxton 77; Minnie Florence
Comp Turnbaugh 58;

Jan. 10, Tue., none

Jan. 11, Wed., Mrs. Anne Johanna Tellefsen 77; John
G. Smith 77; Flora E. Foose Cohick 71;

Jan. 12, Thu., Isaac Horace Holmes 65;

Jan. 13, Fri., Harry P. Seifert 57; Cardinal A.
Gribble 82; William A. Stafford 67;

Jan. 14, Sat., John O. Thumma 71; Ida Waggoner Zug
87; Savilla Bertha Readrick Moody 71;

Jan. 16, Mon., Maude A. Fidler Haldeman 73; Sarah
A. Wiley Peters 65; Mrs. Jessie B. Landis 83;

Jan. 17, Tue., William Lewis Parker 70; Georgia
Spencer Halbert; Bessie J. Smith Allison 68; Mrs.
Carrie Whistler 75;

Jan. 18, Wed., Amos Long Gelnett 67; Mrs. Ellen D.
Garlin 91; William Elmer McBride 74; Cecil Harding
Cuff 54;

Jan. 19, Thu., Edith Coover Myton 79;

Jan. 20, Fri., William Edward Kuhn 67; Maria Ann
Cline 9 months; Frank Alexander Smith 58;

Jan. 21, Sat., Robert Charles Myers 74; Charles
Harry Yeagy 79;

Jan. 23, Mon., Sarah M. Smith Lupfer 55; Edward A.
Shissler 84; Thomas M. Wetzel 77;

Jan. 24, Tue., George R. Clark 54; Lillian Pierce
Flanders 77; J. Beattie Barbour 83; Nancy Agnes Naugle
McMullen 47; G. Herbert Bender; Mrs. Emma N. Weber;
Clinton H. Boyer 66; John M. Potter; Boone Shelleburn
Dromgold 76;

Jan. 25, Wed., Clarence Paxton 69; Ralph E. Jones
49; Lydia Elicker Hair 97; Laura J. Kell Crider 85;

Jan. 26, Thu., Clarence A. Smee 76; Dorothy Felix
Over 36;

Jan. 27, Fri., Elizabeth A. Lindsay Vandergrift 78;
John A. Seitz 87; Ernest Harold Barber 56; Chester B.
Ruhl 53;

Jan. 28, Sat., V. Marie Myers Russell; Gladys
Potteiger Derr 35; Charles E. Mowers 93; Charles
Edward Miller 82;

Jan. 30, Mon., Luther John Arndt 76; Lt. Col. Harry
C. Hill; Jacob E. Routsong 64;

Jan. 31, Tues., Mrs. G. C. Curran (Maust); Mrs.
Francis B. Sellers Jr. (Landis); Annie Hurley Miller
76; James S. Foltz 68;

Feb. 1, Wed., D. Seymour Sherman 91; Nelson B.
Dinsmore 59;

Feb. 2, Thu., John Marshall 64;

Feb. 3, Fri., Raymond L. Wonder; Mary J. Stum Lay
77; Catherine S. Leer Keefer 79;

Feb. 4, Sat., Annie A. Tritt Kyle 77; Leo J. Davis
74;

Feb. 6, Mon., Mrs. Jennie B. Hubley 83; Mary E.
Watson Swanger 75; William J. Warren 77; Mrs. Helen M.
Swaney; Allen McCelvey Foore 56;

Feb. 7, Tue., Clara L. Weist Heberlig 85; Harvey
Miller 74 (Landisburg Cemetery); Emma Lehn Wolf 85;
Bruce E. Group Sr. 52;

Feb. 8, Wed., Harvey Calvin Miller 68; Roy H.
Burgess Jr. 42; Mabel M. Kuhn Noll 58;

Feb. 9, Thu., Gerald E. Baumgardner 28; John Perry
Hockersmith 88;

Feb. 10, Fri., Atta Titman Kirwan 72; Fannie B.
Deitch Raudabaugh 79; Annie E. Salisbury Miller 85;

Feb. 11, Sat., Lena Sheetz Westhafer 93; George W.
Weitzel 75; Mrs. Ophelia Margaret Voss 75;

Feb. 13, Mon., Mary Madilla Hoecht Eldon 92; Samuel
F. Shultz 89;

Feb. 14, Tue., Miss Margaret L. Grissinger 34; Mrs.
Cora C. Wertz 86; Alice White Fortune 33; Grace M.
Herr Stitzel 68; Col. Arthur Andrews 57; Clarence F.
Lear 76;

Feb. 15, Wed., Clever Daihl 65; Mrs. Margaret
Brougher 85; Ward H. Rice 70; Viola Shank Beckmeyer
69; Edward M. Albert 76; Ethel Jane Myers Lay 54;

Feb. 16, Thu., Nathan R. Walker Sr. 69; Charles
Elmer McLaughlin 92; Mary Martha Boyles Brown;

Feb. 17, Fri., Philip Collins 68; Lester R. Shirley
7 months; Miss Edna Sarah Mowery 66; Cyrus F.
Messinger 66; Emma Bistline Buckwalter 81; Miss
Elizabeth Jane Claudy 81;

Feb. 18, Sat., Wendell Jones 56; Wilmer A. Wagner
69; William E. Glass 63;

Feb. 20, Mon., Mrs. Susan K. Allen; George A.
Sheriff 71; Teresa May Kuntz Gardner 72;

Feb. 21, Tue., Rev. Charles D. Collins 72; Mrs.
Annie M. Gochenaur 63; Mrs. Margaret P. Miles 79;
George G. Arbegast 78;

Feb. 22, Wed., Ida M. Shreffler Gutshall 72;
Blanche Fry McBride 69; William H. Albert Sr. 80;

Feb. 23, Thu., John Lewis Baker 49; Charles H.
Pifer 63;

Feb. 24, Fri., John Christian Millhouse 81; Mrs.
Erma E. Spangler 33; George W. Allen 85; Ralph F.
Finkenbinder 53; Fred Dixon 66;

Feb. 25, Sat., Mary Bueschel Basehore; Rev. Charles
S. Messner 73 more on him Monday; Miss Mary Henrietta
Bates 84;

Feb. 27, Mon., John Harper Dyerman 6 weeks; Elmer
Brady 59; Jan Allen Zinn 3 months; A-1c Richard Foster
22;

Feb. 28, Tue., William J. Donovan 56;

Feb. 29, Wed., Charles C. Murray 86; Estelle Spotts
Ord 80;

Mar. 1, Thu., Newton Wayne Jacoby 61; Miss Mary
Jenetta Witter 61; Sarah Elizabeth Finkenbinder 93;
Mrs. Bertha J. Holby 82;

Mar. 2, Fri., Mrs. Anna S. Rasp; Harry F. Johnson
85; James W. Whitmer 91; Mrs. Anna Belle Bower 79;
Martha Kuhn Stricker 87; Mrs. Grace C. Harlacher; Miss
Jeannette Wren; Sarah C. Keefauver Buttorff 92;

Mar. 3, Sat., Stanley R. Gutshall; Daniel M. Reid;
Raphael Weidner 73;

Mar. 5, Mon., Lillian L. Moore Mobley 79; John R.
Hennecke 54; Charles Rodney Lynn 57; Eva G. Kint Orner
56; John R. Sheaffer 58; Joseph Alfred Lambert 80;

Mar. 6, Tue., Miss Pearl A. Allen 86;

Mar. 7, Wed., James M. McBride 72;

Mar. 8, Thu., Mrs. Marie Leone Stewart 60; Paul N.
Rider 59; Nellie Ann Ernst Lloyd 75; Earl J. Nenninger
63;

Mar. 9, Fri., Mrs. Ruth Challenger 84;

Mar. 10, Sat., William C. Baughman 95; Daniel Moore
86; Hanna S. Eichelberger Brenneman 59;

Mar. 12, Mon., Mrs. Della K. Kopp 79; Mrs. Jane B.
Forsythe; Harry Arthur Bair;

Mar. 13, Tue., Edmund J. Hunter 59; Miss Sue F.
Weaver 68;

Mar. 14, Wed., Ruth Marie Wolf Miller 48;

Mar. 15, Thu., Minnie M. Kauffman Barnes 66; Arnold
triplets; Elizabeth Taylor Heikes 66;

Mar. 16, Fri., Mrs. Pauline A. Mummert 47; Harry M.
Rupp 85; Frances Ellen Watson Rotz 77; Miss Sue C.
Sollenberger; Mabel O. Rice Carey 36; Francis Irl
Neiderer 56;

Mar. 17, Sat., Mrs. E. Alice Weigle 72; Mrs. Amada
M. Clouser 86; Ellsworth P. Bream 81;

Mar. 19, Mon., Charles C. Hoffer 79; David Mell 73
this obit is at the end of the list; Samuel Dotter 75;
Miss Emma Rockey 74;

Mar. 20, Tue., Clarence W. Lightner 81; John
Kotzmoyer 78; A. Coleman Sheets; Wilmer Clippinger
Farner 69;

Mar. 21, Wed., Clara Louise Walter Bream; Nora
Baughman Lippert 77; Miss Dorothy Mae Gilbert 19;

Mar. 22, Thu., Mrs. Violet A. Wachtman 64; Helen
Sheaffer Shireman 64; Blanche Boyles Moretz 78; Mrs.
Alda S. Lucas; Mary T. Severans Miller 73;

Mar. 23, Fri., Reuben A. Moyer 86; Gertrude
Mellinger Weidner 68; Harvey E. Frehn 64; Mrs.
Catherine E. Baish 95;

Mar. 24, Sat., Charles Peters 83; Mrs. Mary
Crawford 93; Victor Winfield Danner;

Mar. 26, Mon., Charles F. Hinkel 72; Mary W.
Slaybaugh 60; Mrs. Chester C. Daves; Edward David
Anthony 76; Alfred Winfield Starner 73;

Mar. 27, Tue., David S. Durff 67; Alberta Mayberry
Spangler 58;

Mar. 28, Wed., Charles A. Meals 78; Mrs. Bessie M.
Robinson; Charles Bentz Hartman 80;

Mar. 29, Thu., Inquiry Asked in Girls Death, Jo
Ann Miller 3y, more than a dozen residence request
probe;

Mar. 30, Fri., Harry Melvin Mixell 71; Mrs.
Charlotte Mae Mouer 77; Loretta Green Miller;

Mar. 31, Sat., Patricia Gayle Kline 12y; Harry
Franklin Kane 68;

Obit for David Mell:
The Evening Sentinel, Carlisle, Pa., Monday, July 6,
1891
Mr. David Mell, a resident of Newville, died Sunday
morning at an advanced age. He was formerly a
storekeeper of that place, but for some years has
lived a retired life.

same day

Newville

Mr. David Mell died very suddenly at his late home on
Chestnut street yesterday morning. Although he has
been in delicate health for some time past he was able
to be up and about Saturday evening, he occupied his
chosen place in his son's store on Railroad street,
seemingly as well as usual. Mr. Mell was a kind
gentleman, much respected by his neighbors and friends
who were surprised and shocked to hear of his sudden
demise.

He leaves a wife, a son, John M. Mell, of this place
and a daughter, Mrs. Ed Fosnot, Lewistown. His wife is
a sister of Mr. Jacob Wetzel, of Carlisle.

__________________________________________________
Do You Yahoo!?
Tired of spam? Yahoo! Mail has the best spam protection around
http://mail.yahoo.com


This thread: